

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT Department of Public Administration

CIRCULAR MEMO

20 November 2018

TO:

Attorney General

Secretaries of State

Commissioner of Police

Chairman Public Service Appeal Board

Chief Secretary Public Service

Chairman Constitutional

Appointments Authority

Ombudsman

Auditor General

Chairman Electoral Commission

Chief Secretary Public Service

Principal Secretaries

Clerk of the National Assembly

Registrar, Supreme Court

Chief Executive Officers

RE: PUBLIC HOLIDAYS FOR 2019

Please find the list of prescribed Public Holidays for the year 2018.

The observance of Public Holidays is governed by the Public Holidays Act, (Cap 190) and Public Holidays (Amendment) Act, 2014 which provide that the under-mentioned days shall be Public Holidays:

First and Second of January
Good Friday * (19th April)
Easter Saturday (20th April)
Easter Monday (22nd April)
Labour Day (01st May)
The Fete Dieu (Corpus Christi)* (20 June)
Constitution Day (18th June)
Independence (National) Day (29th June)
Assumption Day (15th August)
All Saints Day (01st November)
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception (08th December)
Christmas Day (25th December)

Public Holidays marked with **an asterisk (*)** are religious holidays and their dates vary each year.

Where any Public Holiday except Sunday falls on a Sunday, the next following day, not being itself a Public Holiday, shall be a Public Holiday; for example the feast of the Immaculate Conception in 2019 will fall on a Sunday, therefore the following day shall also be a public holiday.

Jessie Esparon (Ms)
CHIEF SECRETARY
PUBLIC SERVICE