

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT Department of Public Administration

CIRCULAR MEMO

4 December 2019

TO:

Attorney General Secretaries of State Commissioner of Police Chairman Constitutional Appointments Authority Ombudsman Auditor General Chairman Electoral Commission Chairman, Public Service Appeal Board Chief Secretary Public Service Principal Secretaries Clerk of the National Assembly Registrar, Supreme Court Chief Executive Officers

RE: PUBLIC HOLIDAYS FOR 2020

Please find the list of prescribed Public Holidays for the year 2020.

The observance of Public Holidays is governed by the Public Holidays Act, **(Cap 190)** and **Public Holidays (Amendment) Act, 2014** which provide that the under-mentioned days shall be Public Holidays.

In 2020 the third day of January has also been declared a Public Holiday.

The list of Public holidays in the year 2020 shall be as follows:

First, Second and Third of January Good Friday * (10th April) Easter Saturday (11th April) Easter Monday (13th April) Labour Day (01st May) The Fete Dieu (Corpus Christi)* (11 June) Constitution Day (18th June) Independence (National) Day (29th June) Assumption Day (15th August) All Saints Day (01st November) The Feast of the Immaculate Conception (08th December) Christmas Day (25th December) Public Holidays marked with **an asterisk (*)** are religious holidays and their dates vary each year.

Where any Public Holiday except Sunday falls on a Sunday, the next following day, not being itself a Public Holiday, shall be a Public Holiday.

(Is) IEF'SECRETARY PUBLIC SERVICE